Facebook Tries to Stop People From Oversharing but It's Too Late

Facebook's ever-changing privacy policies have long been a gripe for users, but it looks like the social media behemoth is finally doing something to make people aware that they don't, in fact, need to share every detail of their lives with the entire Internet.

Starting this week, some Facebook users who tried to share posts publicly got a little pop-up with a cute little dinosaur that asked if you really meant to share that with everyone, or would you rather choose the "right audience"?

Here's an example:

It says, "Sorry to interrupt. You haven't changed who can see your posts lately, so we just wanted to make sure you're sharing this post with the right audience. (Your current setting is Public, though you can change this whenever you post.)"

If you click the "learn more" button, you're taken to a message that reads, "Every time you post on Facebook you can decide who sees what you share. It looks like you haven't changes who can see your posts in a while, so we're just checking that your privacy is set the way you want it."

In other words, Facebook is trying to gently remind us that no one likes an oversharer (except maybe a stalker, but that's another story). It might work for some people, especially those that don't realize they're posting publicly, but let's face it -- it's not going to stop the attention-mongers from posting whatever they want for whomever to see.

Thanks to social media and an entire generation of participation trophy winners, too many of us feel our own posts deserve more "likes" than they probably do. Making things public is the best way for the look-at-me crowd to get more attention, and unfortunately, a lot of people will take negative attention over nothing.

There's only one thing we can do ban the oversharers from our timelines -- adjust your own privacy settings to stealth block them so their posts don't show up in your feed anymore.

Did you get the overshare warning on Facebook?

 

Image via i be GINZ/Flickr

communication, facebook, social media

1 Comment

To add a comment, please log in with

Use Your CafeMom Profile

Join CafeMom or Log in to your CafeMom account. CafeMom members can keep track of their comments.

Join CafeMom or Log in to your CafeMom account. CafeMom members can keep track of their comments.

Comment As a Guest

Guest comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.

Coles... Coles_mom

No, but I did get a crazy warning today. I had my account suspended when I logged in this morning because supposedly I'd tried to friend people who didn't have any other mutual friends. ?!?!?! I don't get it....I have only tried to friend people lately who I've been networking with IN REAL LIFE regarding a new business I'm setting up. The only way it'd let me back on my site is by cancelling all of my current friend requests...which was maybe 10. Isn't that the point of facebook? WTH?!?!?!?

1-1 of 1 comments
F