Independent Spirit Awards Winners: A Clue to the Oscars?

jeol mchale independent spirit awardsThe Oscars are less than 24 hours away, but Hollywood managed to slip in another award show before the one we're all really waiting for. Tonight, the 26th annual Independent Spirit Awards ceremony is airing on IFC, but since the show isn't live, guess what?

We already know who won.


I gotta confess, while I love watching the Oscars for the gowns and the speeches and the gossip, I'm more of a Spirit Awards kind of girl. The ceremony, which honors smaller budget creative film projects, was held in Santa Monica, California, and was hosted by Community star Joel McHale (love him!). Paul Rudd, Ben Stiller, Eva Mendes, John Waters, and Kerry Washington were some of the presenters.

Spirit Award winners get a trophy showing a bird sitting on a pole with shoestrings wrapped around it to signify the paltry -- or shoestring -- budgets of independent films. (you can see it in the picture above.) The winners are voted for by their peers, other independent filmmakers.

And because these days even mega celebrities like to be associated with everything cool and independent, there's actually a lot of overlap between the big awards shows (like the Oscars) and the Spirit Awards. In additon to some lesser known movies, which have been nominated -- Everything Strange and New, Get Low, The Last Exorcism, Night Catches Us, and Tiny Furniture -- movies such as Black Swan, 127 Hours, The Kid's Are All Right, and The King's Speech were also up for Spirit Awards. And so were actors like Natalie Portman, Mark Ruffalo, Nicole Kidman, Michelle Williams, Naomi Watts, Bill Murray, Samuel Jackson, and Annette Bening. Like I said, mega celebrities.

So who won?

Without any further ado, here are the 2011 Independent Spirit Award Winners:

[Spoiler Alert! Seriously, stop reading if you don't want to know who won.]

  • Best Feature: Black Swan
  • Best Female Lead: Natalie Portman for Black Swan
  • Best Supporting Female: Dale Dickey for Winter's Bone
  • Best Director: Darren Aronofsky for Black Swan
  • Best Male Lead: James Franco for 127 Hours
  • Best Supporting Actor: John Hawkes for Winter's Bone
  • Best Foreign Film: The King's Speech
  • Best Documentary: Exit Through the Gift Shop
  • Best Screenplay: Stuart Blumberg and Lisa Cholodenko for The Kids are All Right
  • Best First Feature: Get Low

Do you think Black Swan going to win big tomorrow night too?


Image via Independent Spirit Awards

Read More >