Eating Jell-O Could Mean You're a Cannibal

10

jello

We don't like to think about it, but there's no denying that gelatin -- the gelling agent that makes marshmallows, Jell-O, pudding, and gummy candies so jiggly -- is made from boiled animal skin, bones, connective tissue, and organs. That's why most vegans and vegetarians won't touch the stuff.

Now, in an effort to create a better gelatin, scientists are working on a new recipe that, if you ask me, calls for something much grosser than animal remains ...

Get ready. Because the gelatin of the future could contain human-derived material. Relax -- it doesn't involve boiling bones but rather tinkering with human genes. According to Popular Science, here's how it works: The genes "...are inserted into yeast strains that are tuned to produce gelatin in specific, controlled ways."

On the one hand, it sounds like a brilliant idea. With anything made from animal products, there's a risk that it could carry infectious diseases. Cutting down on animal consumption can benefit our health and the environment. And the vegans and vegetarians might be happier (keyword: might).

But then there's the simple fact that no one really want to talk about: If you eat human-derived gelatin, doesn't that mean you are technically a cannibal? Even if it's too insignificant an amount or too dramatically transformed to really matter, I'm not sure there's getting around that fact. Of course, I don't have to remind you that we eat revolting things all the time -- horse semen, breast milk ice cream, meat made in a lab. But this takes the "ick" factor up a whole new notch.

It used to be you could gross people out with the old wives's tale that Jell-O is made from horse's hooves -- or worse. But Jell-O made from human genes sounds just as disgusting and unbelievable.

 

Image via stevendepolo/Flickr

desserts, food

10 Comments

To add a comment, please log in with

Use Your CafeMom Profile

Join CafeMom or Log in to your CafeMom account. CafeMom members can keep track of their comments.

Join CafeMom or Log in to your CafeMom account. CafeMom members can keep track of their comments.

Comment As a Guest

Guest comments are moderated and will not appear immediately.

jaxmadre jaxmadre

Eat real food, not science projects.

Elizabeth Clarke Matter

I'm a vegetarian, and I tend to avoid gelatin (as much because it upsets my stomach as anything else), but if we're going to continue eating meat as a society (which we pretty obviously are) then we might as well use the by-products. Anyway, there are already perfectly good non-animal-derived alternatives to gelatin on the market.

alway... alwayscurious

Something about that just sounds gross. I like jello, but I would skip this. 

Jasmine Mitose

what's disgusting about breastmilk ice cream? human milk is meant for human consumption. i think that eating milk meant for another animal is way more gross (& yes i eat cow dairy products...the deliciousness helps mask the gross factor!) 

allie... alliesmom112

this is why we dont eat jello

Victoria Goins

receive blood? get vaccines? you're a cannibal!

Julie Measner

Umm...what is made out of horse semen??

1-10 of 10 comments
F