Katy Perry: Is Her Mother Exploiting Her 'Dirty' Fame?

Maressa Brown
5

katy perry mary perry hudsonBefore she "Kissed a Girl" and had a "Teenage Dream," Katy Perry was brought up evangelical Christian. Both her mother, Mary Perry Hudson, and her father, Keith Hudson, are evangelical Christian preachers. So you can imagine how much they loathe Katy's current life -- from her huge boobs that are usually on glittery display to her sexy videos and her drug and sex addict, "foul-mouthed" husband, Russell Brand. But apparently, Mary doesn't hate it enough to abstain from cashing in on her daughter's success.

That's exactly what she's attempting to do right now by shopping around a book proposal that was recently obtained, in its full version glory, by Page Six. And, oh man! Do they have some excerpt gems that illustrate exactly why Katy must have plunged herself into full-fledged rebellion the minute she turned 21 ... 

Here's the one in which Katy's mom laments her daughter's pop star threads:

Katy stepped out from behind the changing doors in a tiny risqué costume. No mother wants to see the top of her daughter's boobs ... My first instinct was to order her back behind those doors and demand she put something else on ... However, I had no problem letting my eyebrows say what I wouldn't allow my mouth to utter.

In other words, she's completely passive-aggressive. Makes perfect sense! Refuse to tell your daughter to her face that you're not a fan of her sexy outfits, but then choose to write all about it in a BOOK. She also seems very conflicted about her daughter's success. (Hmm, a twisted way of expressing jealousy, perhaps?)

I recognized the psalmist gift in her performance. Yet she sang out, 'I kissed a girl, and I liked it,' while thousands joined her. One part of my heart soared ... the other part broke for the thousands of hungry souls being fed something that didn't nourish their spirit, but fed their flesh.

Hoo boy! Because that's exactly what most people are doing when they sing along to pop music: Feeding their flesh.

Ironically, Hudson asserts that her book will sell by the boatloads ... to the SAME people she resents for funding her daughter's salacious career! A career she wishes she could "save her from." To quote:

Fans of Katy Perry and Russel Brand will flock to the bookstores to snatch up a copy ... either through curiosity or obsession, to get a glimpse of their stars through Mary's eyes.

Totally wacky! This woman needs to get a grip. She can't have her cake and eat it, too -- hate Katy's lifestyle, but attack it for profit. What a hypocrite.

And how can anyone have sympathy for this woman? Katy's definitely not a teenager anymore. She's 26 years old, married, and has made a name for herself as a very successful entertainer in mainstream music. It's her choice to embrace her sexuality, sing about partying/drinking/falling in love/having sex, and look hot while doing it. 

She may have been raised evangelical Christian, but now, she's completely entitled to different beliefs and values. If Mary doesn't agree with that, that's kind of too damn bad. Props to Katy for somehow coping with her overly-concerned mother while doing her own thing. She would have never achieved the level of fame and success she has by playing by her mom's rules.

As for Mary Perry Hudson's future career as a tell-all writer ... I hope publishers tell her, "Thanks but no thanks" to what she claims ISN'T a memoir filled with Christian proselytizing. (Sure sounds like it.) She must think she's the control freak reverend played by John Lithgow in Footloose. But just like Lithgow, I have a feeling that she's not going to be very successful in shutting the party down. Katy's going to keep on dancing whether her parents approve of it or not.

What do you think about Katy Perry's mom trying to write a book? Does it sound like she's trying to exploit her daughter's success?


Image via Jesse Grant/Getty

Read More