Cheerios Recalled for Allergy Risk: Everything You Need to Know

cheerios recall Check your pantry before serving breakfast or putting this popular cereal into a snack tub to take with you to the park -- especially if your kids or their friends have food allergies! General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were labeled "gluten-free" but actually contain wheat.


The boxes in question were manufactured during July in Lodi, California, and bear the plant code "LD" on them. Cheerios impacted also show "better if used by" dates ranging from July 14 to July 17, 2016. Boxes of Honey Nut Cheerios display "better if used by" dates ranging from July 12 to July 25, 2016. 

Because these cereals were made with wheat flour, those who suffer from wheat allergies or celiac disease may experience an allergic reaction, discomfort, or more serious complications depending on the severity of their condition if they consume cereal from the mismarked boxes.

Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios made at other plants are not part of the recall and are unaffected.

More from The Stir: 10 Most Sugary Cereals That Make Bacon Look Healthy (PHOTOS)

Customers impacted by the recall are advised to contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370. More information is also available on the company's website.


Image via Natalia Ganelin/shutterstock

Read More >